ESFA List of Qualifications approved for funding 14-19 Overview

The Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) list of qualifications approved for funding 14 to 19 gives you information about which qualifications are approved for funding, for students who are aged at least 14 but are not yet 19.

This list was formerly known as the Section 96.

We approve each qualification based on its suitability for students in the following age categories:

  • Pre - 16
  • 16 to 18
  • 18+

Funding approval for pre-existing qualifications

We have published a list of qualifications that we will stop funding from 1 August 2020 for students aged 16 to 19, as part of the review of post-16 qualifications at level 3 and below in England. We will remove funding approval from these pre-existing qualifications in the 16 to 18 performance tables, that are running in parallel with newer redeveloped qualifications.

The list sets out which funding streams will be affected, and how the pre-existing qualifications map to redeveloped qualifications.

16 to 19 funding moratorium

In the first stage consultation document on the review of post-16 qualifications at level 3 and below, we also set out our intention to introduce a moratorium on approving any new qualifications at level 3 and below for funding, for students aged 16 to 19. We have confirmed that the moratorium will take effect from September 2020. 31 August 2020 will be last day for awarding organisations to submit qualifications for funding approval. We will publish detailed guidance shortly.

Searching for qualifications approved for funding

To see if a qualification has been approved for funding, you can use either the search function or download the list of qualifications.

This list is updated each month with:

  • new qualifications that have been approved for funding
  • changes to qualifications that are already approved (such as changes to approval end dates)

You can read more about how this happens on the Further information page.